Eight finalists from Universities around South Africa have already won the regional competitions and will meet at The Wanderers Club in Johannesburg between the 4th and 6th May 2020 for the 33rd Corobrik Architectural Student of the Year Awards evening.

The annual Corobrik Architectural Student of the Year Award is the country’s premier event to highlight the creative and technical talent of the cream of South Africa’s architectural students and to drive the advancement of design excellence nationally.

Participating universities include: University of the Free State, University of Cape Town, Nelson Mandela University, Tshwane University of Technology, University of Johannesburg, University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Pretoria and University of Witwatersrand.

Participants’ thesis models are available to view at the Wanderers Club between 8:30 am and midday on 6 May 2020.  Tertiary institutions are encouraged to send architectural and design students to view the models and listen to a student lecture.

For more information, contact Thilo Sidambaram on 031 560 3111 or Marketing@corobrik.co.za

About the cover image:  Riaan Huiskens from the Nelson Mandela University is the 32nd winner of the Corobrik Architectural Student Award.  He received his award at a ceremony in Johannesburg on Tuesday 7 May 2019.   Riaan’s thesis is entitled ‘The design of a 3D printing facility in Central Port Elizabeth.”


Newsletter Sign Up